Crumbs: Reviews » Dramas » Game of Thrones » Season 5 » Mother's Mercy
Critical reviews of U.S. TV shows
and analysis of what makes them
good, bad, irritating and enlightening.
62
/100
Viewer
71
/100

Game of Thrones

HBO

37
/100
Viewer
60
/100

Episode 10 - Mother's Mercy

15 October 2015

Credit HBO

Synopsis: Jon sends Sam and Gilly to the Citadel. Ser Alliser kills Jon. Selyse kills herself, Melissandre flees and Stannis' army are easily routed by the Boltons. Brienne kills Stannis. Sansa and Theon leap from the walls. Arya kills Meryn Trant but is then punished by Jaqen. Cersei confesses to sleeping with Lancel and is forced to walk naked through the streets of Kings Landing. Myrcella is poisoned by the Sand Snakes. Daario and Jorah go in search of Dany while Tyrion and Varys take charge of Meereen. Drogon needs rest and as Dany searches for food she is surrounded by the Dothraki.

The Good: Cersei's walk through the streets of Kings Landing was one of the most memorable sequences on the show. It was such a shocking spectacle that you began to fear for her safety and her life. To make you feel sympathy for such a spiteful character is clever storytelling. But I suppose its testimony to human sympathy that to watch someone you don't like suffer is still a turn off. If only Benioff and Weiss Martin understood that in the macro as well as the micro.

The Bad: The collapse of Stannis' world lacked drama or emotion. I don't understand the pacing choices which the producers make. We've spent three seasons building up to this moment and yet it ends in a pathetic whimper. I appreciate the story behind it. I understand that Stannis has sacrificed everything only to be surrounded and realise that it was all for nothing. But where was the grandeur in this? Where was the lingering moment of realisation? Where was the minute long reaction shot to Selyse's hanging body so that we could see him take it all in, swallow and march on? The producers have always given Stannis short shrift and I feel like my time has been wasted.

The way Brienne was able to approach him alone felt lazy. Why not give us a set piece where Stannis and his bodyguard put up a brave last stand all the while Brienne is forced to pick her moment and risk losing vengeance or being discovered? Instead it was all so flat and straightforward and lacking in drama.

Even worse was Arya's story. Again we had no brothel tension. No milking of the emotions of fear and excitement as justice found its way toward Meryn. Skipping over Arya's decision to use someone else's face was a mistake. It actually made me wonder if I was watching her fantasy about how the moment might go rather than the real thing. It also seemed to reduce the face changing to a Mission Impossible-style gimmick. Surely she can't put on the skin mask and really look like someone else?

The brutal stabbing of Ser Meryn was graphic and unpleasant. It took the pleasure of her revenge from the scene. I know some will argue that this was intentional. That like feeling sorry for Cersei I am supposed to feel horror at seeing Arya so brutally torture a man. But sadly I don't think Game of Thrones is capable of telling such a complicated story. Let me be clear. In the books I'm sure you can tell a more nuanced tale about how Arya is slowly becoming like the people she hates. But I don't think it will come across the same way on TV. Most viewers want her to kill people because its cool and they want revenge on the bad characters. This was gruesome and nasty in a way which I think will be counter productive to making good television. I should add that seeing Meryn beat other girls felt unnecessary and yet more needless misogyny.

Yet another disappointing climax came when Theon shoved Myranda over the walls. This was what we sat through all that torture for? Again no time was given for the moment to breathe. There was no buildup to this. Why does Reek break now? Where is the drama? Where is the emotion? It was all so rushed.

As for Jon Snow...I feel empty. He had come to represent the best hope for reason and goodness to triumph. At least on the Wall the people had chosen a leader who let reason and empathy guide him rather than brutal self interest. But no more. Now the Men of the Nights Watch have proven to be as blind as everyone else to the threat of the White Walkers and we have lost yet another Stark.

Or have we? Was Beric Dondarrion raised for this reason? The Brotherhood without Banners are one of the shows loose ends and the resurrection of their leader by a Red Priest seemed an odd plot point at the time. Yet now Melissandre rides into Castle Black just before Jon is betrayed by his brothers. Will she raise him? Will he awake of his own accord? Will he return like the Mountain or like a Wight?

The big problem is that I don't care. I care about living Jon. I care about the Jon who inspired loyalty. I don't care about a super natural Jon. I don't care about a world where only magic can save the good people. I'm not invested in Bran or Dany's ability to ride dragons. I'm invested in people. And one of the few good ones left just got stabbed to death. The producers want me to feel bereft whether or not Jon comes back or not. They want me to feel miserable and if they don't understand why that's a bad idea then they don't understand how good television is made.

Game of Thrones has an addiction to "shocking" surprises which have become so frequent that they now form a monotonous dread in me. I told you all that Myrcella was doomed. Her death felt so utterly pointless and predictable. Why do I need to see Jaime suffer more? Oh yeah, he pushed Bran out of a window. Great. He's now lost two of his children. What else can we do to make him miserable? I don't mind a story about suffering but I'm so tired of fake moments of happiness followed by the heavy music notes of doom.

The Unknown: It's hard to know what to make of Arya's blinding as a result of using a face. So I won't speculate here.

I assume Sansa and Theon hit the snow and survived. But if Arya can go blind and Jon can die what's the point in hoping? Maybe they both broke their legs and Ramsay will cackle hysterically at their broken bodies.

Varys and Tyrion are back together. Yay? If I can't trust a show to deliver a story without a twist how can I believe any development is positive?

Drogon needing a rest after what he's been through makes sense. Dany ending up back amongst the Dothraki is intriguing. But of course we just saw another Queen suffer a horrible humiliation. Who's to say Dany isn't about to be gang raped by an army? Am I 100% sure the show isn't going to do that? The fact that I have to ask is pretty shocking. I imagine she won't be but at this point I have no faith that this story won't be just another delay tactic to keep Dany from Westeros for another season.  

Best Moment: The Passion of the Cersei. Though did we need to see four people flash their genitals at her? Human beings have more imagination than just that.

Conclusion: This is the end for me and Game of Thrones. I am tired of being "surprised" by the endless twists. In a way the shows crime is not that it has become the soap opera that other critics dismissed it as. The problem is that it convinced me that it wasn't for five seasons.

I can't view the show as good television any more. It's just a series of meandering setups to shocking acts of selfish brutality. That's not a world I believe reflects history or logical storytelling. And the bottom line is it's not a world I enjoy being in. I will watch to the end I'm sure. I can't handle hearing other discuss something I haven't witnessed. But no more reviews and no more podcasts. Winter has come.

('DiggThis)

Feedback

Add your comments on this episode below. They may be included in the weekly podcasts.

Post your comment

Comments

  • Hey. I respectfully think that you are way off base on this review. The problem for you, I think, is that Game of Thrones is basically the anti-TV show. Stannis's story does end in a whimper, that is the whole thematic point of it. It becomes pathetic after all of the work he put into it. It's not a conventional dramatic story arc.

    The same for Arya's torture of trant. Its supposed to make you go.. oh wait... did I really want this?

    I agree there are some problems with mysogony and GOT has crossed the line in previous episodes (Well documented but: Sansa's rape, too many scenes with Jofrey murdering women, Cercei's rape) but when they've tried to ham up to a conventional narrative, the results have been disastrous (jon snows pointless adventure beyond the wall to crastors old farm, catelyn starks maudlin soliloquy about jon snow)

    Viewer score: 90 / 100

    Posted by dudde, 14/10/2015 6:24pm (2 years ago)

  • I actually did enjoy most of the episode.

    My only thought is that Reek finally 'manned' up when Ramsay's Whore mentioned cutting Stansa up. Something about "parts". I think that is what finally caused him to truly help her.

    I do understand the criticisms but I have lowered my expectations for this show.

    I will greatly miss your thoughts and have always found your reviews to be well thought out and interesting, even when I have not agreed.

    There is a lot of interesting television right now. I do hope the Tv Critic doesn't die out but finds some other excellent show to review. Or perhaps overview several of the latest offerings,

    Masters of Sex, The Leftovers, The Americans... so many for you to check out.

    Thank you for all the time you've put in over the past several years.

    Namaste
    @Yogabon on twitter

    Viewer score: 70 / 100

    Posted by yogabon, 22/06/2015 10:29am (3 years ago)

  • Sorry for missing the comment window, on this, your final podcast!

    Thank you so much, Robin and Roberto. Your discussion has been a pleasure for me over these last few years! And thanks for provoking interesting debate.

    Viewer score: 51 / 100

    Posted by David F, 18/06/2015 11:53am (3 years ago)

  • Well, if this wasn't an entertaining hour of television full of depression, humiliation and excessive violence. In a way you have to applaud the showrunners (and Martin himself) for not making any compromises.

    But is this good television or even storytelling? In a way yes, particularly the downfall of Stannis was morally satisfying and his stubborn and almost uninterested behavior was logical and straight forward but not very exiting to watch, for sure. Just do not think to hard about his troops that didn't deserted the man. Why again? Is there a reason for that?

    I totally agree with your criticism of Arya's storyline. As a viewer you are supposed to feel empathy and sadness for her when she loses her vision. But she pretty much became as much of a deplorable monster as Trant himself by killing him the way she did. That may be the point but then don't expect the audience to pity her in the very next scene. And compared to the Sansa rape (which was as graphic as the shower scene from psycho) this was gratuitous and way over the top. It really tells a lot when people actually cheer and root for this kind of shit.

    The most telling part of the whole series may have been the scene between Myrcella and Jaime. She died just a second after she had a nice moment with her father. That's pretty much Game of Thrones in a nutshell.

    Viewer score: 45 / 100

    Posted by Robert, 17/06/2015 8:43am (3 years ago)

  • Robin, you hit the nail on the head; the show runners are completely addicted to the Twitter buzz caused by trying to shock their watchers with gut wrenching twists. Even the ham handed way they are handling Jon Snow's eventual resurrection is aimed only at the potential shock value. Note they keep saying Jon won't return NEXT season--dead is dead. Yeah, right. Like Mel would have any other reason for returning to the wall. I am sad that you will not be podcasting about GoT anymore, but I can't say I blame you. As for me, I will be sticking with the books. Maybe one day GRRM will finish them.

    Viewer score: 30 / 100

    Posted by Ike, 16/06/2015 5:07pm (3 years ago)

  • I feel exactly the same about this episode Robin. I couldn't believe how rushed the story in the North was. A few weeks back I was hoping the season would end with this battle but after 9 I was expecting it to be early season 6 maybe episode 2 where they could devote an entire episode to the battle and maybe then we would have felt more emotion for Stannis who was pretty much destroyed as a character over the last 2 weeks. I'm always confused at how much time passes in Game of Thrones I mean was Brienne seriously looking at that tower for weeks?

    As I watched the final scene I'm thinking there's no way Jon Snow will die.. As I watch him lying dead.. I feel that is a problem with the show. I don't particularly like magic but I can deal with it as long as it's consistent and the rules don't change. I feel like the red woman has to bring him back but does she even have that power? Will Jon be the same? I'm just not sure. If he comes back along with the Mountain then does life and death even mean anything in Game of Thrones.

    I said a few weeks back that I felt the North has been the best storyline this season and I think this episode has undermined the work of the first 8 episodes. But at least we have Bran to save us next season.

    Viewer score: 40 / 100

    Posted by Tiarnan, 16/06/2015 10:22am (3 years ago)

  • Well, this has been a lacklustre season but more on that at the end.

    Best moment is easily Cersei's walk of shame. That must be a tough scene film for Lena Headley and her body double. Sure, GoT had nude scenes before, but usually it's confined in a room. This scene was out in the open surrounded by what must be hundreds of people.

    Unfortunately the other scenes weren't as remarkable. The whole battle of Winterfell was disappointing. GoT pulled a Rome and skipped the battle completely, but it's really the confrontation between Stannis and Brienne. She must have eyes of a hawk to spot Stannis in all the carnage and ninja stealth to boot like Ramsay to avoid all of Bolton's men to get to Stannis. At least this finally proves that Melisandre's fortune telling skill isn't all that's cracked up to be. Before they sacrifice Shireen, maybe Stannis should have asked Melisandre why Balon Greyjoy is still alive? I thought the leeches meant to kill all three kings? Oh well, 2 out of 3 ain't bad.

    Sansa, Theon and Myranda scene was flat. I agree, no build up to how Theon made his u-turn. This is where the novels have advantage over the show. Theon is one of the POV characters and reading his chapters you can sense of his turnaround.

    Arya's wasn't handled well. Before this episode, I had friends who were looking forward to Arya’s revenge on Meryn Trant. But the day after the episode aired, they thought the whole scene was too much. Meryn Trant beating the girls with sticks was unnecessary, but there are worst things to happen to girls in this show, so it’s a relief that's all they got... I guess.

    Dorne... oh boy, earlier in the season, I had high hopes seeing never before seen region and having the duo of Jaime and Bronn. Now I just want to forget everything that happened there. I don't understand why Ellaria and the Sand Snakes wants to poison Myrcella. I get the revenge for Oberyn Martell, but one of their own, Trystane is next line to the throne after marrying Myrcella, if anything happens to Tommen. I thought the Sand Snakes will travel to King's Landing with Jaime and co. to attempt to assassinate Tommen. My second best moment would have been the time with Jaime and Myrcella, but ruined by her poisoning. What would stop Jaime getting the ship to turn around and chopping off Ellaria and Sand Snakes’ heads with the help from Doran Martell? It's not like there's a long list of suspects who wants to kill Myrcella and everyone saw Ellaria kissed Myrcella. Btw Robin, Jaime also bashed his cousin to death as well as pushing Bran out the window. Sure, it was something the showrunners created, but it happened for better or worse.

    As a book reader I was expecting Jon's death so it wasn't as shocking. The Night's Watch mostly consist of unsavoury men, I suppose I shouldn't be surprised at mutiny for a second time. Surprising that Alliser Thorne stabbed Jon, just when I thought he was a decent man, not surprised with Olly’s actions since he was giving Jon the death stare throughout the season. Where is Ghost? You would think, if not to prevent Jon's death, but attack those who stabbed Jon. I guess Ghost can only save person per season.

    I have given this episode the lowest score I have ever given a GoT episode. I’m not a book purist, I thought the show was doing quite well earlier in the season with them diverting from the books, but after episode six it went downhill, with the except of Hardhome episode. This season showed that the showrunners have been exposed as not that good of writers, especially coming up with their own material that’s not in the novels i.e. Dorne, Sansa in Winterfell, etc.

    I will miss your podcast with Roberto, Robin. I don’t comment as much this season due to other commitments, but I do listen to every GoT podcast you make. I hope we can convince you to continue reviewing the show, but I understand your decision. You gave three episodes of GoT for this season below 50 score. That’s like Dexter later seasons bad. At least with Dexter at least it’s somewhat enjoyable seeing that trainwreck of a show destroys itself, but with GoT, it’s just disappointing to see this decline (for this season anyway). Sorry for my overly long review, but since this is your last GoT and I got to squeeze every ounce of what I got to say about the series. Well, good luck in the future, you guys and thanks for the reviews and podcasts.

    Viewer score: 45 / 100

    Posted by Dave, 16/06/2015 7:09am (3 years ago)

  • I want to add my voice in support of the decision to stop covering the series, although I agree with Karla that I'll miss your analysis in case I'll be able to continue watch it myself. Both your keen eye and knowledge about the TV media and your empathy for the characters make your reviews very compelling to me. At the same time I must agree with Beric that I feel you've been brutally hard on GoT when it comes to the scoring. Despite feeling disgusted with the story, I feel the series is fantastic in almost every other aspect.

    When you've stopped doing this, how about getting a DVD box and start reviewing Rome? (But maybe after summer, so we're both less sensitive to violence.)

    Posted by Bjoern Apelqvist, 16/06/2015 5:20am (3 years ago)

  • For an episode called 'Mother's Mercy' there was not much mercy for any of the characters in here but that seems to have been the point. Or was there? A lot of open endings that fit with the producer’s vision of a 70 hour-long movie so that the story can easily carry over into the next season.
    I respect his decision to quit the show. But seeing as this is Robin’s last Game of Thrones review I will express my feelings about his general approach to the show before I post my review of the episode:
    There is a reason why something like The Walking Dead is a post-apocalyptic show: that way it can avoid the self-destructive human behavior in the face of social implosion in exchange for presenting the base human behaviors in an unthreatening, enjoyable sort of way because the looming shadow of the future is not cast on the characters. It can also then dangle the hope in front of the audience that society will magically reconstitute itself because the horrible apocalypse is already behind the characters. This also allows for endless stalling and meandering, something the finite show Game of Thrones does not have the luxury of doing. That way, something like the Walking Dead avoids delving into the complicated emotions that people experience whilst living in the societal twilight. The pointlessness of certain actions in the face of the end times is also not addressed in those contexts because the actions are not framed in a way that might contribute to the decline of humanity because in a post-apocalyptic setting almost everything is tolerable because…the apocalypse has already happened and the audience generally is more tolerant of those excesses. What for instance does one dinosaur feel and tell another dinosaur one day before their extinction? Those kinds of discussions remain unsaid in post-apocalyptic scenarios because the worst is behind the characters. Should we just not explore this kind of story because it makes people feel bad and uncomfortable, despite the ‘twists’ having been set up for a long time?
    Hasn't this story earned enough goodwill over 4+ seasons to merit leeway in the way it tells its story on part of the reviewer? To me it has often felt like Robin has been harsher on this show than any of the other ones he reviewed and I do not think he has been able to get across to me why that was the case. I also am getting tired of people throwing the word 'soap opera' around for Game of Thrones and yet 5 seasons of Walking Dead treading literally the same ground in different geographical spots with little to no character development do not deserve that label? I doubt that very much.
    I am a reader of the books but books 4 and 5 were of questionable quality in my eyes anyway so maybe the source material for the season was not as strong.
    Now on to the episode itself:
    I thought ending Stannis' story by having Brienne right one wrong consciously (Renly) and another unconsciously (Shireen) is a testament to the idea that karma ultimately does come back to haunt the characters. I especially liked the longer moment of silence between Brienne and Stannis when she asked him for his last words. It was telling that he reminded her of her duty as a knight before he died, which tells us what he at least thought life was about. Ironically, brienne failed to live up to her vow to Jaime and Catelyn by leaving Sansa but then again, she had to make the choice that Jaime realised long ago: you foresake one vow for another in crucial moments and those tell us about her character. Stannis' death reminded me a lot of Richard III in Shakespeare's play: he dies alone on a battlefield. Ultimately, his sacrifice achieved nothing despite the supernatural help that seems to have been delivered to him because all the mercenaries recognized how awful that decision was. Noone wants to be loyal to that and seemingly Melisandre realized that he was not the Wrrior of Light after all or otherwise her god would have given them all the advantages, which he did not.
    I might also say that karma struck for many characters that have been with us from the start: Cersei, Trant, Jon...they all have flaws that put them in the positions that they were in.
    First, Meryn Trant. I have said this for 3 seasons now: Arya is a character one should approach very delicately and cautiously. Because she is a young girl who suffered the audience is bound to root for her. But just because she has been a victim of violence does not mean that she cannot also inflict unnecessary amounts of violence on others. Yes, Trant is a child beating goon but Arya just demonstrated that she is absolutely merciless in her vengeance, quite different from the other warrior woman on the show. Brienne conducted herself in the best manner possible: stoic, brave and detached from any lust for vengeance. Brienne kills Stannis out of duty to Renly. Arya kills Trant to satisfy her own thirst for revenge and her anger and she is the sort of moral monster people blindly cheer for because they have seen her suffer and while her rage is somewhat justified it does not justify these excesses of violence. She wanted to see him suffer and the fact that we are not meant to blindly enjoy it, should tell us If people cheer her on for killing people she decides must die then there is a question, just as there is a question over people enjoying Cersei and Theon suffering or cheering when Joffrey died in his mother's arms. People had no empathy for the scared boy dying not knowing what was happening to him whilst his mother was crying over the fact that she was unable to save her son. I also disagree that having Trant beating the girls was gratuitous. The man has beaten Sansa for ages without anyone saying so much as a word about it and here it was necessary to show which one of the girls was Arya in disguise because she has been playing the game of faces for the entire season so that she has become numb to that kind of physical violence and it ensured that she would be alone with Trant. In the end she has also become morally numb to the violence. The manner in which he died is horrible but the point has been to take us along Arya's journey to see how losing one's humanity happens and many viewers have not picked up on the fact that her quest for revenge might be futile and unnecessarily (self-)destructive also. I am glad that Robin seems to agree: her revenge was graphic and unpleasant because cheering for someone to die is awful.
    Theon saving Sansa has been coming all season. That's why we had all their scenes together and she has been able to get more of his old persona out of him because she is a figure of his past that he cannot deny and who he does not want to see hurt, seeing as his actions partly contributed in her family having been destroyed. We had almost 3 seasons of Theon being subservient to Ramsay and not daring to disobey him or escape. Threatening Sansa, a person Theon shares a connection with in his own past, with exactly the same physical torture Theon received throughout season 3 (and only season 3 because everything that followed was psychological) was likely to be repulsive to him and he helped Sansa and they both escaped together. Incidentally, he managed to kill the woman who had sexually ssaulted him in season 3. This does not seem like much but small victories are part of the narrative and have been since day 1.

    Now, Cersei. I have been guilty of laughing at Cersei's misery in the past couple of episodes myself but I knew this was coming from the books. It is sadly a confirmation for her not just of her own preconceptions of her chauvinistic society but also of the popular support that the High Sparrow had among the people and the realization of her own powerlessness in the face of the big, faceless mob that shames her for enjoying her sexuality as a woman (because that is all they have been told here). This is part of what ultimately breaks her here. It is a denunciation of the chauvinism underlying this world and even women partake in this shaming under the guise of religious duty. It is also NOT a beautiful young queen that delivers Cersei her punishment but an old man, which also might speak against the prophecy being true to some extent and yet the High Sparrow could only come to power within the confines of the state apparatus because Cersei focused only on the prophecy and hence on Margaery and was happy to use him as a tool, not knowing how influential he was. The idea that someone else might deliver her karma to her was just not conceivable in her mind and yet, another part of that prophecy has been fulfilled with Myrcella's death in this episode. It is also interesting that part of what happens to Cersei is her own fault but the societal reaction to her behavior is unwarranted and very cruel. It was also a nice inversion of her scene marching up the stairs to the sept in episode 1 of this season, with everyone else silently on the sidelines and her, the beautiful queen, in the middle. This scene is the opposite: she is amidst the populace that screams at her and throws all manner of garbage at her. The importance of empathy is engrained within the structure of the POV narrative of the books and the show so finding sympathy for the characters comes easy because we have seen things from their perspective to some extent. Qyburn’s creation seems rather intimidating. Maybe when, if at all, he gets exposed people in King’s Landing might buy into the tales of undead creatures beyond the Wall…
    The use of magic is key to Martin's story and its presence increases the more the narrative advances so that by the end we arrive at a more classical fantasy setting. The Faceless Men have demonstrated magical abilities since season 2 and Arya's blindness might also come as a form of divine punishment for her own selfishness.
    Now on to Jon. This happens at the end of book 5 and many readers had exactly the same reaction that we observed here with Robin and that is normal, seeing as Jon is a legitimately true and noble man who does his duty and yet he faces the bigotry of an institution that is much larger and older than himself and his decisions alienate him from the people whose support he needs because the Night's Watch (but not all in this episode, seeing as Edd for instance was not among the traitors). It goes to show that some people, like Alliser, do not change and some, like Olly, have legitimate reasons for how they feel but their actions render those motivations meaningless because violence is the admission of defeat in the debate that Jon had with them all season and arguably throughout seasons 3-5. He has empathy for other people. They do not because they prefer their old ways over the new ones. It is heartbreaking that Jon Snow dies here but the priests of the Lord of Light have special powers. And while magic being the tool of salvation in the face of a magical threat does sound strange, magic is now an integral part of the world these characters inhabit. if anything, Jon's death teaches us that the people who make the right points usually have to face an enormous wall of denial and apathy and in the worst cases the people unwilling to change use violence to silence the voice of reason. I'd say the fact that a show wants to present this bad thing to us and that viewers and readers feel bad is not a base goal less valid than any other to tell a story. Feeling bereft and sad at the death of a fictional character is a testament as to how invested the viewer was in that character and the idea of loss is an important one and one that many other shows do not know how to convey effectively. It also means that the story was told effectively. It does not mean that the moments of happiness are fake but, rather like in real life, happiness is often fleeting and of short duration. Westeros is not a world I'd want to live in but that is sort of the point, really. It takes the romance out of war and violence.
    Dany meeting the Dothraki is in line with what happens at the end of book 5 with her character. From here onward we are in uncharted territory for her character. I wonder whether she will be brought back to Vaes Dothrak. It reminded me of the scene of the Rohirrim surrounding Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli in the Two Towers. Tyrion being in charge of chaotic Meereen will be interesting. It also makes sense that Drogon would not immediately obey Dany 100% of the time.
    My final point is that for all this time Robin has said that I do not understand his position. But I do: not knowing what lies ahead without book knowledge is something I am also able to do because I am able to set aside the books and just analyze what’s in front of me and say what it means to me and most of the time I do not need to fill in the blanks with the books. When what’s ahead in the narrative is likely to be vicious and violent is not pleasant but it is part of the point. It is also unfair to say that Robin says that Martin doesn’t know how to tell a story without having read the story that Martin wrote.
    I guess this year the inevitable twists got to be so numerous in part because the season condensed 2 books worth of material but then had the show adapted book 4 only we would have missed half the characters and the pacing would have grinded down to a halt. Had they adapted the two books in a way that stopped at the halfway point of each we would have gotten nowhere by the end of the season. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

    Anyway, We disagree on the show but that's ok. No need to watch something you do not enjoy. Best of luck in the future.

    Viewer score: 90 / 100

    Posted by Beric, 16/06/2015 3:07am (3 years ago)

  • Another season gone and by the early look of things another load of viewers gone....

    There were things about this that I loved and things I didn't so much.
    I was angry and annoyed about the brothel scene. Did we need to see him beating little girls? Was there not another way of doing this scene instead of another female based sexual violence scene?? The pay off of Arya's incredably violent revenge felt good when I was watching it but purely from a "thank god she's actually doing something this season" perespective. I'm unsure why it was so bloody thirsty, on her "list" he is surely one of the least personal and least despicable people (until he became a pheodphile of course) so why all the rage?

    We got no resolution from Sansa, after her arc this season i really thought she was going to have some kind of scene in which she finally became strong but yet again it's someone else that 'saves' her. That was just poor and completely unresolved.

    Cersei was the best thing about his episode and I tribute a lot of this to the actor. What a magnificent performance. I also enjoyed the choice to make the shots of the walk almost unnaturally long, it made me feel that we were suffering along with her. I actually God felt a bit sorry for her something that surprised me. Even during the books I didn't feel sympathy for her at this point but Lena Headly brought that out of her well. My husband and I can't decide between us if she's truely broken by her ordeal or if she has become stronger and more resolute. The mountain is back. Wow. Just wow. Mary Shelley eat your heart out.

    Jon. Poor poor Jon. As a book reader I saw this comming and am having to tell a lot of my non book reader friends the horrible news that I can't confirm Jon's alive or not!! I think the blatant and convinent arrival of Mel points to me that jon will be resurrected in some form although I don't truly understand her reason for leaving Stannis.

    On another note...Robin don't leave us!!! I look forward to the podcast as the series goes on and when I am disappointed by an episode I find solace in the thought that you will eloquently explain why I hated it.

    Viewer score: 68 / 100

    Posted by Karla, 16/06/2015 12:03am (3 years ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments